Released by Rep. Dan Flynn

AUSTIN -- Texas House Speaker Joe Straus congratulated Representative Dan Flynn, R-Van, for his appointment as Co-Chair of the National Conference of State Legislatures' Military and Veterans Affairs Task Force.

"In Texas, Representative Flynn is a leading advocate for members of the military and veterans," Speaker Straus said. "This appointment is a well-deserved recognition of his commitment to military issues and an opportunity for Representative Flynn to share his good work with leaders from other states."

A veteran of the U.S. Army, Representative Flynn is chairman of the Texas Military Caucus. He serves on the Texas House Committee on Defense and Veterans Affairs and the Committee on Homeland Security and Public Safety. During the 82nd Session, he authored legislation to strengthen the right to re-employment for members of the military forces of Texas, or any other state, upon return from authorized duty.

Past Vice Chair of the National Conference of State Legislators (NCSL) Standing Committees and actively serving on the military affairs component of that Conference, Representative Flynn currently holds the rank of Commander in the Maritime Regiment of the State Guard, Texas Military Forces.

"I'm honored to have received this appointment and look forward to working with Chairwoman Van de Putte and my other Task Force colleagues," Representative Flynn said in a statement Thursday. "I appreciate the recognition by Speaker Straus and look forward to representing the State of Texas in this capacity"

Representative Flynn has extensive experience in Homeland Security, recognized for his outstanding work on the Texas/Mexico Border specifically and his overall contributions to Homeland Security. For these accomplishments, Governor Rick Perry commissioned Representative Flynn as an Admiral in the Texas Navy, the title is reserved for honoring those who have provided great service to Texas.

Representative Flynn will co-chair the NCSL Military and Veterans Affairs Task Force with Sen. Leticia Van de Putte, D-San Antonio.